Tel: 1-631-626-9181 (USA)   44-207-097-1828 (Europe)


Official Full Name
crystallin, gamma C
Crystallins are separated into two classes: taxon-specific, or enzyme, and ubiquitous. The latter class constitutes the major proteins of vertebrate eye lens and maintains the transparency and refractive index of the lens. Since lens central fiber cells lose their nuclei during development, these crystallins are made and then retained throughout life, making them extremely stable proteins. Mammalian lens crystallins are divided into alpha, beta, and gamma families; beta and gamma crystallins are also considered as a superfamily. Alpha and beta families are further divided into acidic and basic groups. Seven protein regions exist in crystallins: four homologous motifs, a connecting peptide, and N- and C-terminal extensions. Gamma-crystallins are a homogeneous group of highly symmetrical, monomeric proteins typically lacking connecting peptides and terminal extensions. They are differentially regulated after early development. Four gamma-crystallin genes (gamma-A through gamma-D) and three pseudogenes (gamma-E, gamma-F, gamma-G) are tandemly organized in a genomic segment as a gene cluster. Whether due to aging or mutations in specific genes, gamma-crystallins have been involved in cataract formation.
CRYGC; crystallin, gamma C; CRYG3; gamma-crystallin C; CATARACT, VARIABLE ZONULAR PULVERULENT; CCL; CRGC_HUMAN; CRYG 3; Cryg 5; Cryg; Crystallin gamma 3; Crystallin gamma C; Gamma C crystallin; Gamma crystallin 2 1; Gamma crystallin 3; Gamma crystallin C; Gamma-C-crystallin; Gamma-crystallin 2-1; Gamma-crystallin 3; Gammab cry; Len; OTTHUMP00000163869; crystallin, gamma-3

Interested in learning more?

Contact us today for a free consultation with the scientific team and discover how Creative Biogene can be a valuable resource and partner for your organization.

Request a quote today!